The Primary Election Day is scheduled for August 9th. Like every voting day, this one is extremely important.

I am running for one of the two senate seats in the Franklin District. I have just finished the 14th year of service in the Vermont House of Representatives; that is 7 terms representing my home town of Georgia. While in the House, I served as Vice Chair of the Ways and Means Committee for most of the 12 years I was assigned to that committee. During the two years I served on the House Education Committee, I served as Clerk.  I was the Ranking Member of the Ways and Means Committee. In addition, I have served on the Joint Fiscal Committee, was Co-Chair of the Woman’s Caucus, served on the Governors Committee for International Education and chaired several conference committees.

I know I can serve the people in Franklin County in a way that will make you proud.

Our county has taken an undeserved black eye in recent months. Franklin County has far too many drug crimes including thefts from occupied dwellings. We need a drug treatment facility. Our roads continue to need repair. We must attract new businesses to the area to provide jobs. We must proceed with plans to clean up the waters of our rivers, streams and lakes. These things cannot wait any longer.

Please consider voting for me as one of your two votes for Franklin senate district. Your vote will make a difference.

Voters can vote now by going to the Town Clerk’s Office and requesting an absentee ballot. These ballots are also called early voting ballots. One does not need a reason to vote by absentee ballot. Just tell the town clerk that is the reason you are there.

The purpose of the Primary election is to give the major parties an opportunity to select their candidates. The voter can vote on one major party ballot, like the Republican ballot or the Democratic ballot, and must discard the rest.

Independent candidates will appear on the General Election ballot in November.

On Primary Election Day, August 9, 2016, Franklin County voters should vote in the town where they are registered. Those who are not registered may register to vote at their Town Clerk’s Office until August 3.

The Franklin Senate District consists of all Franklin County communities except Montgomery and Richford and the Grand Isle County town of Alburgh.

The Franklin Senate District consists of these towns:

Alburgh, Bakersfield, Berkshire, Enosburg, Fairfax, Fairfield, Fletcher, Franklin, Georgia, Highgate, St. Albans City, St. Albans Town, Swanton, Sheldon

Every vote counts! Don’t forget, August 9th! Be sure to vote.

Carolyn Branagan
Candidate for Vermont Senate

By | 2017-05-23T16:07:07+00:00 July 25th, 2016|Election2016|0 Comments

About the Author:

Leave A Comment